John Whisman “Vision” Award

The John Whisman “Vision” Award is given to an individual who has contributed to making the region a better place.  The purpose of the award is to “honor efforts made by an individual to relieve the deep-seated problems of Appalachia, promote systems of federal, state and local cooperation and further the mission of the Appalachian Regional Commission and the local development districts.”  It recognizes an individual who best supports intergovernmental cooperation as exemplified in the ARC – state – LDD partnership.

2023 Winner: Beth Jones (TN)

Don Myers Humanitarian Award

The Don Myers Humanitarian Award was established to recognize an individual who has shown leadership and provided community service that has enriched Appalachia.  The award will be presented to a person whose life has been marked by actions that have (1) led to the growth and development of the region, (2) enhanced the fabric of their local community, and (3) reinforced the sense of selflessness and self-reliance so strongly identified within Appalachian communities.

2023 Winner: Phil Trew (NC)

Congressional Award

The DDAA’s Congressional Award honors members of the United States Congress who through their leadership and support recognize the valuable work of the Appalachian Regional Commission and its intergovernmental partnership in helping to improve the quality of life in the 13 state region. 

2023 Winners:

Senator Mark Warner (D-VA)

Congressman Glenn Thompson (R-PA).